Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Walter Hilse, organ

The Durham-Chapel Hill Chapter of the American Guild of Organists hosted organist Walter Hilse for their opening program. On September 27, Dr. Hilse conducted a Masterclass, at which four people played, and the next evening, he played a wonderful recital at University United Methodist Church in Chapel Hill.

Here is the program. He was so enthusiastically received that he played two encore pieces.

Sonata II
   Ruhig bewegt
   Mässig bewegt, heiter (Fuge)
Paul Hindemith (1895–1963)

Two Chorales from the "Great Eighteen"
   „Von Gott will ich nicht lassen“ (BWV 658)
   „Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend“ (BWV 655)
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)

Prelude and Fugue in a minor (BWV 543)

Three pieces from Studien fur den Pedal-Flugel (Studies for Pedal Piano), Op. 56
   E Major (No. 3)
   A-flat Major (No. 4)
   b minor (No. 5)
Robert Schumann (1810–1856)

Two Pieces
   Prelude on Engelberg ("When in our music God is glorified")
   In memoriam Duke Ellington
Walter Hilse (b. 1941)

Henri Mulet (1878–1967)

Encore pieces:

4 Skizzen fur den Pedal-Flugel, Op. 58: III. Lebhaft

Now Thank We All Our God
Sigfrid Karg-Elert (1877–1933)

No comments: